Jane Eyre – A Bookish Movie Review

downloadFor my watching of Jane Eyre,  I just grabbed what was on the shelf at the library and ended up with this BBC miniseries. It was about 5 hours long and stuck very close to the book. I’m not sure if this is typical of BBC productions, but the acting often struck me as over the top and rather theatrical. It wasn’t bad, but it was definitely different.

Proving that you simply can’t please everyone with an adaptation despite the mostly meticulous following of the book, there were still a few things I thought important that got left out! There wasn’t anything specific I feel the need to complain about though, as overall this was a very faithful adaptation. Strangely, even with most events kept intact, I felt something was missing. A lot of this story is about what Jane thinks and feels, as she explains the story to you in the book. In the movie, her thoughts weren’t always clear and I think it lost a lot of the depth and beauty of the book as a result. I might try another adaptation in the future, but this one made me feel like this was a story that’s just better told by a book.

9 Comments

Filed under Book To Movie Challenge

9 responses to “Jane Eyre – A Bookish Movie Review

  1. It’s hard to find a good adaptation of a beloved book.

  2. Jennie

    I haven’t read the book but the film adaptation we saw at the cinema was good. I was interested to read your thoughts on this one. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Jen K

    I’ve never really been that big of a fan of the novel, but I thought the recent movie with Michael Fassbender as Mr. Rochester was good. I would definitely love to hear your thoughts on that one.

  4. Pingback: Book to Movie Challenge Check-In | Doing Dewey

  5. Jennine G.

    My only BBC experience is a six hour rendition of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. It’s my favorite version of the movie! I’m glad to hear this at least was close to the book. What year is the mini series?

Leave a comment