Monday Musings

This week the Monday Musings question is the following: What are you currently reading? And, is it better, as good as, or worse than your last read?

I’m currently reading Cultivating an Ecological Conscience: Essays from a Farmer Philosopher.  My previous read was the Uglies quartet, a YA dystopian series, and was much too different to compare to my current read.  But before that I was reading Uncertain Peril: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Seeds which is much more comparable.  As you already know from my review of that book, I found it had a good message but the message got lost in a lot of rhetoric and emotion.  Fortunately, Cultivating an Ecological Conscience is the opposite.  Although the author, of course, still has an agenda, all of the essays are clear and measured arguments for the author’s point of view.  The message the author is trying to convey in each essay is always well-supported and the author’s passion doesn’t overwhelm his reason.  So far, I’m liking this one much better.

Feel free to answer the Monday Musing question yourself, either here or on the blog of the meme’s host, Should Be Reading.  What are you reading now and how does it compare to your previous read?

Leave a comment

Filed under Monday Musings

Leave a comment